WFTHN Committee

Please see below for more information and contact details for our Committee members who are responsible for various aspects of WFTHN‘s work:

Education Officer
Lee-Jane Bennion-Nixon (Head of Programme Film and TV Production BA at York St. John University)
Academic/professional interests: women in the film and tv industries; postfeminism; women warriors on screen.
Contact: L.BennionNixon@yorksj.ac.uk
Link to website

Founder of WFTHN
Christine Gledhill (Professor, Cinema Studies)
Academic/professional interests: women’s film history; feminist film theory; British cinema – especially but not only 1920s; stars and film performance; melodrama, genre and transnational cinemas.
Contact: christine.gledhill@googlemail.com
Link to website

Fundraising Co-ordinator
Emma Sandon (Lecturer in Film and TV Studies at Birkbeck University of London)
Academic/professional interests: colonial film history; women and S. African film.
Contact: e.sandon@bbk.ac.uk
Link to website

Fundraising Support
Julia Knight (Professor of Moving Image at Sunderland University)
Academic/professional interests: moving image distribution promotion; exhibition and archiving – new media technologies/online distribution.
Contact: julia.knight@sunderland.ac.uk
Link to website

Ireland Liaison
Kate Haslett ()
Academic/professional interests: .
Contact: khaslett@hotmail.com
Link to website

Membership and Listserv Manager
Shelley Cobb (Lecturer in English and Film at University of Southampton)
Academic/professional interests: women filmmakers (directors, producers, screenwriters); women in contemporary British film industry; film and tv adaptation.
Contact: s.cobb@soton.ac.uk
Link to website

PR/External Affairs
Eylem Atakav (Snr Lecturer, Film & Television at University of East Anglia)
Academic/professional interests: Middle Eastern film and television; representation of ‘honour’ crimes in the media, and women’s cinema.
Contact: e.atakav@uea.ac.uk
Link to website

PR/External Affairs Support
Deborah Jermyn (Reader in Film & Television at University of Roehampton)  Professional/Research Interests: Women filmmakers; representations of women and feminism in popular culture; women stars and celebrity. Co-Director of Roehampton’s Centre for Research in Film and Audiovisual Culture.
Contact: d.jermyn@roehampton.ac.uk
Link to website

Research Officer
Jennifer O’Meara (researcher at Trinity College Dublin)
Academic/professional interests: female screenwriters, film dialogue, performance, stardom, film sound.
Contact: omearaja@tcd.ie
Link to website

Resources Officer & Blog Editor
Rona Murray (researcher at Lancaster University)
Academic/professional interests: women film-makers (directors, writers); gender and authorship; feminist film theory.
Contact: r.murray3@lancaster.ac.uk
Link to website

Scotland Liaison
Caroline Merz
 (researcher at Edinburgh University)
Academic/professional interests: member of the Early Cinema in Scotland project, researching film production in Scotland 1910-1928. Other interests include British women film-makers; history of women in TV; British silent cinema;  oral history.
Contact: carolinemerz@gmail.com
Link to website

Social Media Officer
Natalie Wreyford (Research Fellow on “Calling the Shots: women and contemporary UK film culture 2000-2015, Southampton University)
Academic/professional interests: women screenwriters, women in the film and television industries, gender and creative work. Member of Raising Films
Contact: n.l.wreyford@soton.ac.uk
Link to website and blog

Website Developer and Manager
Clare Watson (London Screen Heritage Manager at London’s Screen Archives, Film London, and Associate Research Fellow in the Cinema and Television History Research centre, De Montfort University). Also, co-creator Women and Silent British Cinema website. Formerly, Lecturer in Film and Television Archiving, UEA.
Academic/professional interests: media archiving; film & TV history; women’s film history; non-theatrical and amateur cinema; British and silent cinema; Chaplin studies.
Contact: clarewatson1@yahoo.co.uk
Link to website

Website Editor & Twitter Officer
Hannah Graves (Ph.D. candidate in Department of History at University of Warwick)
Academic/professional interests: mid-century Hollywood film history; social conscience filmmaking; representation of mixed-race women in media.
Contact: H.E.P.Graves@warwick.ac.uk
Link to website

WFTHN 2014 Conference Organisers
Laraine Porter (Senior Lecturer in Film Studies at DeMontfort University)
Academic/professional interests: women in silent film; ‘adopt a woman’ campaign for the BECTU oral history project.
Contact: lporter@dmu.ac.uk
Link to website

Yvonne Tasker (Professor Film and Television at University of East Anglia)
Academic/professional interests: gender and film authorship; genre; recession-era cinema.
Contact: y.tasker@uea.ac.uk
Link to website

Melanie Williams (Snr Lecturer, Film and Television, University of East Anglia)
Academic/professional interests: women in the British film industry and representations of women in post-war British cinema.
Contact: Melanie.Williams@uea.ac.uk
Link to website

WFTHN 2016 Conference Organisers
Vicky Ball (Snr Lecturer in Cinema and Television Histories at De Montfort University) was also a Network Co-ordinator during 2011-13.
Academic/professional interests: women’s British television histories; women’s production histories.
Contact: vicky.ball@dmu.ac.uk

Melanie Bell (Lecturer in Film at Newcastle University) also edited the WFTHN e-Newsletter between 2011-2013.
Academic/professional interests: women in history of British film and television industries; British female stars; representation of women in British cinema.
Contact: Melanie.Bell@newcastle.ac.uk
Link to website

To get involved and become a member of the Network, click here, or send us an email via our Contact Us page.

Return to Network Organisation

Advertisements